• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Four candidates will appear on NL’s council ballot Nov. 3

Four to vie for three seats in Swisher; races are uncontested in Shueyville, Tiffin and Oxford

NORTH LIBERTY– Regardless of the outcome, at least one new face will be sitting at the North Liberty City Council table in January.
Current two-term council member Coleen Chipman is not a candidate for the Tuesday, Nov. 3, city elections.
However, two other incumbents still have their hats in the ring.
Chris Hoffman and Terry Donahue will seek re-election to their positions, challenged by Jay Johnson and Jim Sayre. Three four-year terms will be decided in the election.
North Liberty voters will go to the polls between 7 a.m. and 8 p.m. to cast ballots at the North Liberty Community Library.
Friday, Oct. 23, is the pre-registration deadline for voters, although potential voters can still register after Oct. 23 using election-day registration procedures. The deadline for requesting an absentee ballot by mail is 5 p.m. Friday, Oct. 30. All absentee ballots must be postmarked by Monday, Nov. 2, to be counted.
A similar decision faces the voters of Swisher, where Mayor Christopher Taylor is unopposed, but four candidates will vie for three seats on the Swisher City Council.
Incumbents Mary Gudenkauf and Michael Stagg will be joined on the ballot by Tiffany Dague and Rebekah Neuendorf. Swisher residents will vote at the Swisher American Legion.
Meanwhile, the town of Oxford will try to choose a new mayor without an official candidate.
No one filed the necessary paperwork with the Johnson County Auditor’s office for the Nov. 3 election and, as a result, the mayor’s position will be determined by write-in.
The Oxford council race feature no contested seats, with incumbents Lorena Weppler and Sara Morlan seeking re-election and Brodie Campbell as a candidate for a third seat.
Oxford’s election will also feature a ballot issue to authorize the city to levy 27¢ per $1,000 assessed valuation to increase the budget of the Oxford Public Library for the next five years.
The ballot question requires 50 percent approval to pass.
Shueyville, Solon and Tiffin city races are uncontested.
In Tiffin, Mayor Steve Berner seeks re-election, as do council members Peggy Upton and Mike Ryan. Al Havens, appointed to the council in February to replace former council member Mark Petersen, is running to fill the remaining two years of that term.
Solon Mayor Steve Stange, as well as council members Mark Prentice and Dale Snipes, are also running unopposed.
Swisher’s appointed mayor, Mickey Coonfare, will seek to serve the remainder of the term, as will council member Brad Anderson. Incumbents Brent Foss, Chris Lacy and appointed incumbent Jack Frisk are all seeking four-year terms without opponents.