• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Major parties make their picks for supervisor’s race

Special election set for Tuesday, Dec. 18

IOWA CITY– The two major political parties have made their choices and now it will be up to the voters of Johnson County to decide who will fill a vacant seat on the board of supervisors.
Johnson County Democrats selected Royceann Porter, while the Johnson County Republicans picked Phil Hemmingway, to run in a special election on Tuesday, Dec. 18, to assume the two years remaining of Kurt Friese’s term. Friese died at his home Friday, Oct. 26, at the age of 54. Johnson County Auditor Travis Weipert, Recorder Kim Painter and Treasurer Tom Kriz met on Wednesday, Nov. 7, to discuss making an appointment to the board of supervisors, or to hold a special election to fill the vacancy. The trio voted 2-1 (Kriz opposed) to go with the special election.
The Democrats met on Tuesday, Nov. 20, and elected Porter, an organizer for the International Brotherhood of Teamsters and family services coordinator at the Family-to-Family Partnership Program, as well as a former case manager at the Iowa City Shelter House. Porter defeated former Supervisor Pat Harney for the spot on the ballot.
The Republicans met on Saturday, Nov. 24, and selected Hemmingway, a current member of the Iowa City Community School District (his term expires in 2019) and owner/operator of Phil’s Repair LLC, an auto and truck repair business located in Iowa City. In addition, Hemmingway was born and raised on a Century Farm in Johnson County. Hemmingway was unopposed in the Republican convention with nomination by acclamation.
This will be Hemmingway’s second campaign for the board of supervisors as he was defeated in the Nov. 6 general election, which saw current Supervisor Janelle Rettig and newcomer Pat Heiden elected to the board in a three-way race for two open seats. Heiden garnered 41 percent of the vote (41,954); Rettig received 38 percent (38,879) while Hemmingway picked up 21 percent (21,109).
Monday, Nov. 26, was the final day for candidates to file with the auditor’s office. The deadline for voter pre-registration and to request an absentee ballot is Friday, Dec. 5, at 5 p.m. The last day for early voting will be Monday, Dec. 17, between 7:45 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. The polls will open on Election Day, Tuesday, Dec. 18, at 7 a.m. and close at 9 p.m. The winner’s term will expire on Dec. 31, 2020.