• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Solon Trapshooting Team aims to win at state competitions

SOLON– From Friday, May 30 through Sunday, June 1, members of the Solon Spartan Trapshooting Team were in Cedar Falls participating in annual state level competitions. The team had an excellent showing and placed well in several award categories as they competed against more than 1,400 student athletes (and over 150 schools).
High school shooters competed on Friday, May 30, at the Iowa State Trap Competition, hosted by the Shooting Sports division of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (DNR). Solon Black Squad consisting of shooters Brandon Dvorsky, Easton Ressler, Wyatt Rath, Logan Chaloupka and Ben Lilleoden earned second place with a team total of 478 out of 500 targets broken. Combined high scores for regular league meets for shooters Logan Chaloupka, Justin Gibbs, Wyatt Rath, Brandon Dvorsky and Easton Ressler earned a sixth-place trap league trophy. The high school Spartan Trapshooting team was also awarded fourth place in the prestigious High School Iowa All State Team Award. This award is based on the team’s highest scores from the regular season league competitions combined with the scores from Friday’s Iowa state trap competition.
On May 31 and June 1, the Solon Spartan Trapshooting Team competed at the Iowa SCTP competitions, with high school shooters competing on Saturday and middle school shooters on Sunday. Over 1,000 athletes competed in events over the course of the two days, including shooters at rookie, intermediate, high school, and collegiate levels. Solon was one of the largest teams in attendance with 35 intermediate and high school shooters.
At the May 31 SCTP meet, Justin Gibbs (High School JV division) shot 97 out of 100 targets and after a shoot-off with several other athletes, was awarded fourth place overall against 362 other student athletes in his division.
Solon Spartan high school shooters competing in one or both of the high school competitions included Caleb Asprey, Megan Beuter, Logan Chaloupka, Lee Colton, Brandon Dvorsky, Ciara Erenberger, Olivia Erenberger, Cole Fritz, Hunter Gehrke, Justin Gibbs, Ben Lilleodden, James McAtee, Lillee McAtee, Kody Moss, Nick Olney, Wyatt Rath, Easton Ressler, Grant Rowland, Levi Schwartz, Walker Sea, Raiden Takeuchi, Cameron TePoel, Chad Thielen, Daylan Tompkins, and Nick Vsetecka. Shooters Sam Corrigan and Nick Moore also competed during regular season meets.
Congratulations to Solon Spartan Trap Team graduating seniors Wyatt Rath, Brandon Dvorsky and Easton Ressler.
Solon Spartan Middle School Trap Team members competed at the SCTP competition on Sunday, June 1. Individual awards for Sunday include Treven Stallman– first place with a score of 98 out of 100 targets and Chase Gehrke - third place out of 250 competitors in the men’s division. For the female division, Nicole Breese took second place out of 28 athletes with a score of 87 out of 100 targets. The intermediate Solon black squad consisting of members Michael Baumgartner, Chase Gehrke, Chase Connelly, Christian Haight, and Treven Stallman took first place in the state out of 23 schools, with an outstanding score of 473 targets hit out of 500. State awards given for the regular league season participants included Treven Stallman– third place male, Christian Haight– seventh place male, Nicole Breese– second place female, Brianna Smith– third place female.
Solon Spartan middle school shooters competing at Sunday’s event included Michael Baumgartner, Nicole Breese, Chase Connelly, Brenton Dvorsky, Chase Gehrke, Christian Haight, Joe Kral, Jarrett Manifold, Brianna Smith and Treven Stallman. Carter Sea also competed during regular season meets.
Several Spartan high school participants earned awards for hitting perfect 25 of 25 and 50 of 50 targets during state competition, and regular season league shooting. They are as follows: At 25 of 25: Cameron TePoel, Grant Rowland, Nick Olney, Lillee McAtee, Ben Lilleodden, Chase Connelly, Christian Haight, Jarrett Manifold, Brianna Smith, Chase Gehrke (2), Michael Baumgartner (2), Cole Fritz (2), Lee Colton (2), James McAtee (2), Justin Gibbs (3), Sam Corrigan (3), Easton Ressler (3), Treven Stallman (4), Brandon Dvorsky (5), Logan Chaloupka (5), and Wyatt Rath with 10 perfect 25 scores. And at 50 of 50: Justin Gibbs, Logan Chaloupka, Treven Stallman, and Hunter Gehrke, with two perfect 50 of 50 scores.
Several Spartans from both the high school and middle school teams finished in the top 100 shooters in the state in their division. More information about SCTP and state competitions can be found at www.iowadnr.gov/Recreation/ShootingSports.aspx.
The Solon Spartan Trapshooting team shooters, coaches and parents would like to say a huge thanks to the following sponsors for their support: Solon American Legion, Ruzicka’s, Sam’s Main Street Market, Solon Economist, Hardline Construction, Olney Electric, Aero Rental, Pheasants Forever, Whitetails Unlimited, City Sewer Service, Rage Grafix, Glen and Cindy Erenberger, Tina and Brad Gehrke, Iowa Valley Monument Co., USA Midway Foundation, AJ’s Shotguns, Redcoat Arms, R&M Embroidery and the Iowa DNR.