• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

West High’s Lohaus earns INA honors

Mr. Basketball

IOWA CITY– The Iowa Newspaper Association (INA) has named Wyatt Lohaus, a 6’2” senior from Iowa City West High, “Mr. Basketball” for 2014. The organization made its announcement last week along with naming the All-State selections for boys basketball.
Lohaus played as a starter all four years at West and helped the Trojans to a 94-9 record during that time, including a historic three state championships. In Des Moines this year, he put up 51 points over the three-game period. Lohaus led all scorers with 22 points in the quarterfinal game against Southeast Polk despite suffering from a form of the flu. Against Bettendorf in the semifinal round, he had a 16-point effort, and was among several Trojans scoring 13 apiece in the championship game against West Des Moines Valley.
Lohaus was named captain of the all-tournament team at the conclusion of the final game.
A guard, Lohaus, the Trojans’ points leader, averaged 19.5 points per game making nearly 56 percent of his field goal attempts and hitting 88 percent from the free throw line. He averaged just under five rebounds per game, had 108 assists on the season, 40 steals and 63 turnovers. With 508 points this season, Lohaus was second only to Daniel Tillo of Sioux City North (583 points) in scoring in Class 4A.
Last season, Lohaus also led the Trojans in scoring with 355 points, 40 points better than teammate Jeremy Morgan, whom Lohaus will join next year at the University of Northern Iowa. Lohaus signed a letter of intent for the Panthers back in November.
Sportswriters from across the state comprised the INA’s selection committee
Lohaus also earned Class 4A All-State first team honors from the INA, joining teammate David DiLeo (Third Team). DiLeo was also named to the all-tournament team.

Class 4A first team
Front line: Daniel Tillo, Sioux City North, 6’5” junior
Front line: Michael Jacobsen, Waukee, 6’8” junior
Front Line: Nicholas Baer, Bettendorf, 6’7” senior
Back Court: Wyatt Lohaus, Iowa City West, 6’2” senior
Back Court: Teyonte Jenkins, Des Moines North, 5’10” senior
Back Court: Kyle Haber, Dubuque Senior, 6’7” senior
Utility: Cortez Seales, North Scott, 6’5” junior
Utility: Nick Jeffries, Southeast Polk, 6’3” senior

Class 4A second team
Front Line: Jay Knuth, Johnston, 6’7” senior
Front Line: Jay Schon, Ankeny Centennial, 6’7” junior
Front Line: Allen Lazard, Urbandale, 6’5” senior
Back Court: Terrance Bush, Des Moines North, 6’1” senior
Back Court: Cole Clearman, Bettendorf, 6’0” senior
Back Court: Jordan Bohannan, Linn-Mar, 6’1” sophomore
Utility: Jalen Jones, Clinton, 6’6” senior
Utility: Jacob Olson, Cedar Rapids Jefferson, 6’0” senior

Class 4A third team
Front Line: Lincoln Conrey, Waterloo West, 6’5” junior
Front Line: Anthony Nelson, Waukee, 6’7” junior
Front Line: Seth Bonifas, Dubuque Senior, 6’9” senior
Back Court: Sam Straub, Ames, 6’2” senior
Back Court: Kendall Jacks, Bettendorf, 6’3” senior
Back Court: David DiLeo, Iowa City West, 6’6” junior
Utility: Will Carius, Pleasant Valley, 6’5” sophomore
Utility: Luke McDonnell, Dubuque Senior, 6’9” junior