• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Creek Boys top double dual

CCA wrestlers defeat CPU and Liberty High

North Liberty Leader
CENTER POINT– Clear Creek Amana’s (CCA) varsity wrestlers swept a double dual (triangular) meet Thursday, Jan. 4, in Center Point versus the Stormin’ Pointers of Center Point-Urbana (CPU) and the Lightning (Bolts) from Liberty High.
The Clippers edged past the Pointers, 42-41, with Andrew Rohret (145 pounds), Kyle Pitlick (195), Jonah Upah (285) and Sam Stevens (113) all winning by fall over CPU’s Dylan Clark, Collin Bantz, Derek Besick and Matt Hearn.
CCA deflected the Lightning Bolts, 47-27, with four Liberty forfeits. Liberty’s Kaleb Williams (138), Gavin Luze (182) and Jared Alger (132) won by fall over CCA’s Nate Beckman, Grant Haman and Hunter Schmelzer, while Upah and Jake Neuzil (126) pinned the Lightning’s Mike Gwenigale-Ogoli and Mike Luyeye.
Liberty’s Jacob Morgan (160) took a 6-4 decision from CCA’s Harrison Cory and the Clippers’ Stevens took an 11-2 Major Decision (MD) from the Bolts’ Jackson Brennan.
The Pointers bit the Bolts, 48-27, with three wins by forfeit each and one double-forfeit. Morgan took an 8-2 decision from CPU’s Avery Clark and Ashton Barker (145) pinned the Pointers’ Dylan Clark in 4:28.
The Creek Boys host CPU, Central-DeWitt and Solon on Thursday, Jan. 11, in a 6 p.m. quad meet and compete in Solon’s Ed Hadenfeldt Tournament on Saturday, Jan. 13, starting at 9 a.m.
The Bolts travel to Mount Vernon Thursday, Jan. 11, to face the Mustangs and Maquoketa Cardinals at 6 p.m. and compete Saturday, Jan. 13, in Adel-DeSoto-Minburn’s (ADM) tourney, starting at 10 a.m., in Adel.

Clear Creek Amana (CCA) 42, Center Point-Urbana (CPU) 41.
145: Andrew Rohret (CCA) over Dylan Clark (CPU) (Fall 1:39), 152: Grant Jensen (CCA) over (CPU) (For.), 160: Harrison Cory (CCA) over (CPU) (For.), 170: Kaden Neal (CPU) over (CCA) (For.), 182: Avery Clark (CPU) over Grant Haman (CCA) (Fall 3:23), 195: Kyle Pitlick (CCA) over Collin Bantz (CPU) (Fall 3:24), 220: Tanner Cochran (CCA) over (CPU) (For.), 285: Jonah Upah (CCA) over Derek Besick (CPU) (Fall 2:58), 106: Cole Whitehead (CPU) over Mike Marrow (CCA) (Fall 0:29), 113: Samual Stevens (CCA) over Matt Hearn (CPU) (Fall 0:48), 120: Caleb Fuessley (CPU) over Shiloh Robbins (CCA) (Fall 0:56), 126: Keegan Scheeler (CPU) over Jake Neuzil (CCA) (Fall 3:11), 132: C.J. Garnett (CPU) over Hunter Schmelzer (CCA) (Fall 1:39), 138: Adam Hansen (CPU) over Nate Beckman (CCA) (TF 19-4 6:00).

Clear Creek Amana (CCA) 47, Liberty High (ICL) 27.
138: Kaleb Williams (ICL) over Nate Beckman (CCA) (Fall 0:37), 145: Andrew Rohret (CCA) over Ashton Barker (ICL) (Dec 11-4), 152: Grant Jensen (CCA) over Klein Thoensen (ICL) (MD 17-6), 160: Jacob Morgan (ICL) over Harrison Cory (CCA) (Dec 6-4), 170: DaJohn Willis (ICL) over (CCA) (For.), 182: Gavin Luze (ICL) over Grant Haman (CCA) (Fall 1:42), 195: Kyle Pitlick (CCA) over (ICL) (For.) 220: Tanner Cochran (CCA) over (ICL) (For.), 285: Jonah Upah (CCA) over Mike Gwenigale-Ogoli (ICL) (Fall 0:29), 106: mike Marrow (CCA) over (ICL) (For.), 113: Noah Banwart (CCA) over (ICL) (For.), 120: Samual Stevens (CCA) over Jackson Brennan (ICL) (MD 11-2), 126: Jake Neuzil (CCA) over Mike Luyeye (ICL) (Fall 3:46), 132: Jared Alger (ICL) over Hunter Schmelzer (CCA) (Fall 2:59).

Center Point-Urbana (CPU) 48, Liberty High (ICL) 27.
152: Peter Woodward (ICL) over (CPU) (For.), 160: DaJohn Willis (ICL) over (CPU) (For.), 170: Jacob Morgan (ICL) over Avery Clark (CPU) (Dec 8-2), 182: Collin Bantz (CPU) over Gavin Luze (ICL) (Fall 0:55), 195: Double Forfeit, 220: Mike Gwenigale-Ogoli (ICL) over (CPU) (For.), 285: Derek Besick (CPU) over (ICL) (For.), 106: Cole Whitehead (CPU) over (ICL) (For.), 113: Matt Hearn (CPU) over (ICL) (For.), 120: Caleb Fuessley (CPU) over Jackson Brennan (ICL) (Fall 2:36), 126: Keegan Scheeler (CPU) over Mike Luyeye (ICL) (Fall 3:23), 132: C.J. Garnett (CPU) over Jared Alger (ICL) (Fall 1:42), 138: Adam Hansen (CPU) over Kaleb Williams (ICL) (Fall 4:46), 145: Ashton Barker (ICL) over Dylan Clark (CPU) (Fall 4:28).