• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

High Hopes for Trojan boys XC

IOWA CITY– The West High Trojans cross country squad was the runner-up team in the Mississippi Valley Conference (MVC) meet and fifth in team standings at the state meet last year. For coach Brian Martz and the boys, neither finish was good enough, and they are looking to improve on both this year.
Martz is looking at a team based on age and experience led by junior Kolby Greiner, who was 11th in the 2016 state meet. Ethan Trepka (senior, 2016 state qualifier), Ethan Goers (senior, 2016 state qualifier), Kyle Sulwer (senior, 2015 state qualifier) and Jared Bailey (senior, 2015 state qualifier) are also back in the Trojan lineup.
Four newcomers: Yousef Salama (junior), Ken Wilbur (sophomore, MVC 9/10 champion last year), Isaac Miller (senior) and Micah Bailey (senior) will also add to the roster and a “tight pack after Greiner,” as Martz said.
The season kicks off on Saturday, Aug. 26, at Cedar Rapids Prairie. The West High Invitational is set for Tuesday, Sept. 26, at the University of Iowa’s renovated Ashton Cross Country Course.

2017 Iowa City West High Boys Cross

Country Schedule

Sat. Aug. 26 AT Cedar Rapids Prairie
Sat. Sept. 2 AT Pleasant Valley
(Crow Creek Park)
Thurs. Sept. 7 AT Cedar Rapids Invitational
(Noelridge Park)
Thurs. Sept. 7 AT Marshalltown (Marshalltown
Comm. College)
Sat. Sept. 16 AT Heartland Invitational
(Iowa State University)
Thurs. Sept. 21 AT Eastern Iowa Classic
(Noelridge Park)
Sat. Sept. 23 AT Rim Rock Classic (Kansas) OR
Roy Griak Inv. (Minn.)
Tues. Sept. 26 West High Invitational AT
U of I Ashton XC Course
Thurs. Oct. 5 MVC Super Meet (Dubuque)
Thurs. Oct. 12 MVC Divisional Meet AT
Seminole Valley (Cedar Rapids)
Thurs. Oct. 19 State Qualifying Meet, TBD
Sat. Oct. 28 State Championships (Fort Dodge)